Music Service term and holiday dates

Find term and holiday dates for Suffolk County Music Service's (SCMS) lessons, activities and events.

More information about our calendar can be found at the bottom of this page. Click the + icon to expand the menu.

Autumn term 2020

September - October

Tuesday 1 September Suffolk County Council (SCC) start of autumn term and SCMS Non-teaching day 

Wednesday 2 September Non-teaching day 

Thursday 3 September and Friday 4 September Non-Pupil Days 

Monday 7 September first possible teaching day for SCMS 

Monday 5 October closing date for SCMS Exams 

Tuesday 8 September – Friday 16 October Suffolk Youth Music: Area Activities (6 weeks) 

Saturday 12 September – Saturday 17 October Suffolk Youth Music: County Music Schools (6 weeks) 

Friday 23 October Non-Pupil Day 

Monday 26 October – Friday 30 October Autumn half term

November - December

Tuesday 3 November – Friday 27 November Suffolk Youth Music: Area Activities (4 weeks) 

Saturday 7 November – Saturday 28 November Suffolk Youth Music: County Music Schools (4 weeks) 

Friday 4 December – Saturday 5 December SCMS Exams 

Friday 18 December SCC end of autumn term

Spring term 2021

January - February

Monday 4 January SCC start of spring term and first possible teaching day for SCMS 

Tuesday 5 January – Friday 12 February Suffolk Youth Music: Area Activities (6 weeks) 

Saturday 9 January – Saturday 13 February Suffolk Youth Music: County Music Schools (6 weeks) 

Monday 18 January Closing date for SCMS Exams 

Monday 15 February – Friday 19 February Spring half term

February - March

Monday 22 February Non-Pupil Day 

Tuesday 23 February – Friday 12 March Suffolk Youth Music: Area Activities (3 weeks) 

Saturday 27 February – Saturday 13 March Suffolk Youth Music: County Music Schools (3 weeks) 

Friday 19 March – Saturday 20 March SCMS Exams 

Friday 26 March SCC end of spring term

Summer term 2021

April - May

Monday 12 April SCC start of summer term and first possible teaching day for SCMS

Tuesday 13 April – Friday 28 May Suffolk Youth Music: Area Activities (7 weeks)

Saturday 17 April – Saturday 29 May Suffolk Youth Music: County Music Schools (7 weeks)

Monday 10 May Closing date for SCMS Exams

Monday 31 May – Friday 4 June Summer half term

June - July

Tuesday 8 June – Friday 2 July Suffolk Youth Music: Area Activities (4 weeks)

Saturday 12 June – Saturday 3 July Suffolk Youth Music: County Music Schools (4 weeks)

Monday 21 June – Friday 25 June WCET Festival events

Tuesday 6 July, Friday 9 July and Saturday 10 July SCMS Exams

Friday 16 July last possible teaching day for SCMS

Monday 19 July Non-Pupil Day

Tuesday 20 July SCC End of Summer Term and SCMS non-teaching day

More information

Events Calendar